Vehicle & Traffic Law 1180 is the statute that is used most often by law enforcement in New York State. This is because
it includes all the types of speeding violations and almost everyone gets a speeding ticket once in their lifetime.
The following is listing of all the subsections of 1180 in the order of how frequently they are used in charging
- 1180-D (the default speeding charge)
- 1180-B (speeding in a 55 mph zone)
- 1180-A ("imprudent speed")
- 1180-F (speeding in a work zone)
- 1180-C (speeding in a school zone)
- 1180-G (speeding in a truck)
What is VTL 1180-E?
The least used speeding charge is VTL 1180-E. It is utilized in circumstances similar to where 1180-A is used. For
example, there is an accident, and the law enforcement officer at the scene concludes that you must have been speeding.
The following is the exact wording of the statute:
(e) The driver of every vehicle shall, consistent with the requirements of subdivision (a) of this section, drive at an
appropriate reduced speed when approaching and crossing an intersection or railway grade crossing, when approaching and
going around a curve, when approaching a hill crest, when approaching and passing by an emergency situation involving
any authorized emergency vehicle which is parked, stopped or standing on a highway and which is displaying one or more
red or combination red, white, and/or blue lights pursuant to the provisions of paragraph two and subparagraph b of
paragraph four of subdivision forty-one of section three hundred seventy-five of this chapter, when traveling upon any
narrow or winding roadway, and when any special hazard exists with respect to pedestrians, or other traffic by reason of
weather or highway conditions, including, but not limited to a highway construction or maintenance work area.
This statute is intended for situations where the driver was traveling at the speed limit, but was supposed to slow down
due to a condition specific to the roadway at that time.
What if I Plead Guilty to a VTL-1180E?
If you plead guilty or are found guilty of 1180E, you will get three points on your New York license. The fine is up to
the judge. The minimum is $0 and the maximum is $150. There is a mandatory $93 state surcharge. The biggest cost of this
ticket is the violation appearing on your driving record. You can expect your insurance rates to go up with any type of
speeding violation on your driving abstract.
The good news is, that for several reasons, 1180-E is a charge that can be fought and beaten. We, at the Benjamin
Goldman Law Office P.C., have handled this type of charge to successful resolutions. If you received an 1180-A ticket
anywhere in New York State, we should be able to help. Contact us at your convenience to discuss further. Consultations
SPEAK WITH AN ATTORNEY
Disclaimer: All the content of this website has been prepared by Benjamin Goldman Law Office P.C. for
purposes only and does not constitute legal advice. The information on this website shall not be construed as an
to represent you, nor is it intended to create, nor shall the receipt of such information constitute, an
relationship. Our hope is that you will find the information useful and informative, and we would be happy to
communicate with you and answer any questions you may have about our legal services. Readers should not act upon
information on this website, or decide not to act based upon the information on this website, without first
appropriate professional counsel from an attorney licensed in the home state of the drivers license of the
received the relevant traffic citation.